André Filiatrault

Academic Position:Professor

School of Advanced Studies IUSS Pavia


Office: IUSS Pavia, Palazzo del Broletto (secondfloor)

Address: Piazza della Vittoria 15, 27100 Pavia – ITALY



Voice:  +39 0382 375853

Fax:     +39 0382 375899



Research area:Earthquake Engineering, Structural Dynamics, Seismic Performance of Non-Structural Elements


Courses:          Seismic Design and Analysis of Non-Structural Building Elements

Seismic Isolation and Dissipation



André Filiatrault, Ph.D., P.Eng, is a Professor in the Department of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering at the State University of New York at Buffalo in Buffalo, NY, USA and a Professor of Structural Engineering at the University School for Advanced Studies IUSS Pavia, Italy.

He received his master’s (1985) and Ph.D. (1988) degrees in civil engineering from the University of British Columbia after obtaining his bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from Université de Sherbrooke in 1983.

After a two-year stint as an assistant professor at the University of British Columbia, he joined the Department of Civil Engineering at École Polytechnique, part of Université de Montréal, where he became a full professor in 1997.

Professor Filiatrault joined the faculty at the University of California, San Diego in 1998, where he was a professor of structural engineering until 2003. From 2003 to 2007, he served as the Deputy Director of the Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research (MCEER). Professor Filiatrault also served as the Director of MCEER from 2008 to 2011.

He is the current founding president of the International Association for the Seismic Performance Of Non-Structural-Elements (SPONSE). His research over the last 31 years has focused on the seismic testing, analysis and design of civil engineering structures and non-structural building components.

The professional achievements resulting from his research and teaching activities include four textbooks, more than 325 peer-reviewed scientific publications, the 1990 Sir Casimir Stanislaus Gzowski Medal from the Canadian Society for Civil Engineering, the 2002 Moisseiff Award from the American Society of Civil Engineers and the 2008 Outstanding Researcher/Scholar Award from the Research Foundation of the State University of New York.